Thursday, June 16, 2011

The Five Love Language

My special someone introduced me to a book entitled The Five Love Language and we both took the assessment from the website in order for us to know our love languages to help us understand each other. According to the book, the five love languages are the following: 
  • Words of Affirmation
    Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.
  • Quality Time
    In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful.
  • Receiving Gifts
    Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.
  • Acts of Service
    Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.
  • Physical Touch
    This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.
My boyfriend scored the highest for Acts of Service while I scored the highest for Quality Time. It means that he shows love through helping me and he feels loved whenever I help him with something. As for my side, I don't mind helping him because every chance of helping him is a quality time for us.

Gracy Chapman, the author of the book, also wrote God Speaks Your Love Language which according to him, he used the Five Love Language to explain the love relationship of Christians with God. "What makes one person feel loved does not necessarily make another person feel loved. God knows you, and He chooses to speak your Love Language."

I guess that explains the different ways of people in showing how much they love the Lord and how they felt His love. Personally, I feel the presence and love of the Lord whenever I spend quality time with Him. I just realized that lately. It is only when I started to devote time to spend silence and music with Him that I felt his overflowing love again. Interesting book and thoughts, I'll definitely grab a copy.

What's your love language? Take the assessment here


Megan Colyer said...

Great book, I have read it!

I thought you might be interested in this press release about a teen and writing contest that we hosted last month.

You are welcome to cover this story or make use of the material in the press release for your blog. Please let me know if you have any questions.


iriske said...


Claire said...

You have a nice blog. Try to visit my blog too Thanks

Claire said...

You have a nice blog. Try to visit my blog too Thanks

Ritah said...

I have just reading it! I will gladly read on! :)